Skip to content

Princess and the Frog Cake

April 6, 2010

This cake was for a sweet girl in my son’s preschool class. She loves the Princess and the Frog movie, especially the frogs, so I copied the movie logo in making her birthday sign and did my best attempt at one of the frogs. Of all I have done, making this frog was one of the hardest!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Nickie permalink
    January 17, 2011 9:29 pm

    I stumbled on this site while trying to get ideas for a cake for my daughter’s 4th birthday. She is obsessed with Princess and the Frog, for months all I’ve heard is “Mommy can I have a Tiana party please please please!!” How can I say no to that, right? ha-ha I was thinking about attempting something somewhat similar to this and I was wondering whether you used gum paste or fondant for the frog and if you had any advice on trying to sculpt him. Your cakes are all so impressive, I doubt I’ll ever get that good.

    • Shannon permalink*
      January 17, 2011 10:08 pm

      Thank you Nickie! I did make him out of gum-paste, but since then I have changed my methods. He actually fell victim to cracking which is what gum-paste does in large quantities. The surface begins to crack as it dries. This is fixed by sculpting with 1 part fondant to 3 parts gum-paste. Adding that little bit ensures a smooth but still hardened character. He was made in three parts. Part 1: body, I rolled out a thick, stumpy log of the green gum-paste/fondant mixture. I then played with one end sculpting a face shape with two mickey mouse looking ears for the eyes. I then stood it upright. Part 2: Legs, this is a much thinner log and I used small scissors to cut two slits for the toes. I then bent it like a leg and attached to the sides at the bottom. Part 3: arms, similar to legs accept a smaller log and no bending. I attached these to the upper sides of the body and pressed his legs closer towards them. I used a little water to attach it all together, including his legs to his arms where they touched. I then made his eyes and teeth. It is best to let him dry overnight before placing him on the cake. He can be made days in advance. I would love to see a picture of your cake when it is done. Please let me know if you have any more questions.

      I can be contacted through my new blog at http://www.Shannonstar.net

Leave a Reply

