Skip to content

Owl Baby Shower Block Cake

January 18, 2010

When designing most all my cakes I ask my clients for inspiration. Whether it be snippits about the person the cake is for, invitations, or party themes, I use it all to come up with a unique custom design. This cake happened to be for my son’s preschool teacher who was throwing a shower for her very first grand baby. She provided me with the nursery bedding and the idea of a block cake and then let me design away! The blocks are made out of chocolate cake with chocolate filling and decorations are all fondant. The owl topper is made of rice krispie treats molded and covered in fondant. The matching sugar cookies have fondant toppers. I thought the cake turned out adorable and I LOVED the baby bedding! It so made me wish for another baby for a few minutes 😀

My inspiration…super cute bedding!!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Ash permalink
    February 7, 2010 4:27 pm

    Everything is so adorable! Could you please find out what the name of that baby bedding is (or who it’s by)? It’s so cute, but I can’t figure out what it is.

  2. February 10, 2010 12:52 pm

    Super, super cute!!! Love the colors too, and those cookies are adorable.

  3. Heather permalink
    July 9, 2010 1:37 am

    I too, am hoping to find out what the name of the bedding is. I have searched for a couple of hours and found nothing. I really like that one because I am not finding the sex of the baby out and it is too perfect!

    I love the cake. I LOVE the cookies even more. They are so perfect!

    • Sharon permalink
      July 13, 2010 2:30 pm

      it’s from Target stores

  4. Ash permalink
    July 9, 2010 12:36 pm

    Heather-

    I found out the bedding is from Target. I think it’s by a company called Circo, and I’m pretty sure it was called “ABC’s and Animals.” I’m not sure if they sell it anymore though.

  5. Shannon permalink*
    July 14, 2010 1:57 pm

    I just saw it on clearance at my target..so check around. You may still be able to find it!

  6. November 12, 2010 10:13 pm

    our baby beddings are usually cotton based because i think that cotton is the best fabric that you can use for your baby .*-

Leave a Reply

