Skip to content

Chocolate Flower Cake

August 3, 2009

This cake was made for a get together that I was attending. Since I was there as a guest I thought I would try something new and get people’s opinions. I usually make my own chocolate fondant but thought I would be fair and give some of these great brand name fondants a try. This one is Satin Ice’s Dark Chocolate Fondant. I made a small rectangular cake with a dozen matching cupcakes (the cupcakes had my fondant on them). The cake was vanilla with strawberry buttercream filling. The cupcakes were my vanilla vanilla cupcakes. Final verdict: homemade taste much better! Unfortunately with the store bought fondants they are full of chemicals that aid in giving it the structure and shelf life (which is really needed for some cakes). The taste was average but everyone peeled it off which is something that a cake lady never wants to see! It had great color and smelled amazing but I will for sure go back to my own recipe for future cakes. 

_MG_8858_MG_8861

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

